Tuesday, December 23, 2008

UGHH I'm so mad, I'm gonna go do 50 push ups!

Exercise Reduces Anger
By Rick Nauert, Ph.D.


“Exercise had a significant impact on anger expression in children,”said Dr. Catherine Davis


Most of you have probably thought about ways to deal with yourself when it comes down to controlling your anger. Maybe go scream into a pillow, release it on someone else, find something to eat or listen to music yeahh? Well now there's a better and possibly healthier way to deal with your anger and that is...exercising! Studies have shown that exercises such as aerobics can help a variety of people reduce their anger and aggressive behaviors. Too much anger and aggression can lead to dangerous outcomes such as delinquency, a wrongful behavior, in children, cardiovascular disease in adults and metabolic syndrome in adolescents. To prevent those problems from happening, exercising is recommended to those who need to handle their anger issues because it is found that exercising lessens children's anxiety and depression and help adults manage their emotion easier. So next time when you get angry, try exercising and maybe it'll help you cool down a little bit :)




http://psychcentral.com/news/2008/11/25/exercise-reduces-anger/3407.html

Friday, December 12, 2008

Personality Tests

Jung Typology Test
-This test, done by Carl Jung and Isabel Myers-Briggs, asks a couple of questions about you and your interests then rates what type of personality you have. My type is Introverted Sensing Feeling Judging (ISFJ). After reading through the brief summaries of ISFJ, I found it suprising and interesting that some of the information did relate to me like how I care about my family and friends and need them, my shyness can be misjuding and work long hours without it being a big problem to me.


Life Goal

This test was okay; in my opinion, I thought it didn't need that much of bubble choices for us to answer because then we wouldn't know for sure where we stood in the statement. Some of the questions, especially when I got to the politics part, were kind of ehh? My results were the opposite of what I expected it to be.


Sim Personality Test

Ohh I use to play the Sims back then..ahh, the good old days! Anyways, for this test, you choose from strongly agree to strongly disagree depending on what the statement says. I scored a 4 for active which makes me a lazy Sims who definitely needs to go out and stop being a couch potato; 6 for neat, outgoing, playful; 7 for nice which makes me easy to get along and socialize with my neighbors. How greattt.


EQ Test
What's an EQ? Known as Emotional Intelligence and describes the ability/capacity to perceive, asse and manage people's emotions.

My Score: 39
35 - 44
My results said that I was above average EQ so I guess that's not bad..? I thought it was cool because the results the EQ test gave me pretty much described some parts of me. Yeahh I'm sensitive to the emotional climate of the people around me as well as easily affected by the behaviors of others. The test gave a range from 1-5 so that we could rate how much the statement fits us. Good and helpful tip/adivce it gave.


Attraction Test
This test asks simple questions for you to answer in the beginning then shows about 50 pictures of the gender you're interested it in where you have to rate them from not attractive to very attractive. It was pretty fun in a way.. my results said that I'm attracted to guys that looked happy, fun-loving, upbeat, intelligent, soft-hearted, well-dressed and fasionable. I agree with this, but I don't really see how this attraction test works. It shows a bunch of pictures and didn't explain the qualities and characteristics about the person, so how do we know if a person who is intelligent, nice, weird etc., attracts us just by looking at the picture without information..? Looks don't say everything.. But who knows, it's just a test. Pretty interesting though...

Friday, December 5, 2008

how yU doin?

Heyyy best frann!


What's upp?!? I realllyyy REALLY miss all our long talks, laughs, hang out days, and all those good times. Whenever I come home for winter break, we HAVE to hang out okayy!? How are you? life? college? Anwayysss, my school year is starting out kinda weird. The other day, I was sitting in class listening to the professor give his lecture about the minds of people and decided to see if my mind was of any use. I stared at a boy across the room and said in my head, "Give me your notes!" like 20 times. Then after class, he asked me if I needed to borrow his notes! How crazy..can I talk to other minds??? Also, I went to this Magic festival thing last week since pretty much the entire campus was talking about it. This magician person "cut" this girl in half and the whole crowd was shocked and horrified..except me! I ended up laughing (which I don't know why) and people stared at me like what's wrong with her? How embarrasing. Ohhh and while there, this woman at one of the tables laid out 30 cards faced down and told me to choose the one that had a witch on it. Guess what?? I picked the card with the witch on it! Isn't that odd?!? I know it's pretty weird, but I kind of felt like the cards were talking to me.....maybe they do spiritually! What is going on!?! Ahh, I feel like I can control minds, or have some type of super power or sense... Yeahh, you're probably thinking what has college done to me. I can go on and on, but I'll tell you more whenever I come home. The sad part is that I haven't had a chance to really meet a lot of people yet; I feel like I have no friends :(




-Christine (: